The Art of Writing

Felix John Attard
3 min readSep 24, 2024

Note taking and learning on paper.

Photo by Ervan M Wirawan on Unsplash

In this day and age, we are spoilt for choice when it comes to apps for writing/note-taking. Once you find an app that works for you, writing/note-taking becomes as easy as just opening an app and typing away. Speech-to-text also lets you take written notes just by speech.

Notes/writings are synced to all your devices and all the information you need is always at hand and saved on the cloud. Yet, even though we have all this technology at our fingertips, it is still not the same as writing.

Putting pen to paper

Around a year or so (ago), I opened my desk drawer and noticed I had a small collection of rollerballs. I always liked a good-looking pen. Yet, with me, they never saw much use.

Grabbing a piece of paper, I started doodling and it didn’t take me long to feel a sense of “freedom”, calm?

The experience is a bit hard to put into words, yet it felt good. It was a welcome break from all the tech we are suffocated with.

Back to basics. Beauty, after all, is in simplicity.

Following that, I researched a bit online and found a lot of YouTube videos where creators were talking about their process of writing, notetaking and how they are introducing writing as part of their daily lives.

--

--